Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Training and classification of the Great Dane

The Great Dane is not a race; it is more lake a family of dogs. With so many possibilities out there, it might be hard for you to choose the puppy that will grow to be the friend and guardian of the family. Moreover, because of the “dog-mania” from the years 70’s, the genes were compromised, and you will have to check the pedigree of every Great Dane with attention. Let’s see a classification of the Great Dane and some training techniques that can be applied for specific races of this family.


No matter where your dog is situated in the classification of the Great Dane, you will have to apply some basic training techniques, and some special techniques for each race.

The Great Dane has a great temperament, being careful with the kids and also protective. However, with a bad training, he or she might become a moody dog with weak social skills.

Because of his huge proportions, all the dogs from the classification of the Great Dane must be trained as a puppy, so he could be more easily controlled as a grownup. It must be educated so he would not attack people, and especially kids.

In the classification of the Great Dane, the dog has three main colors: yellow, black and harlequin, and blue

Classification of the Great Dane: yellow

The yellow Great Danes can have vertical stripes having a wide gamma of colors, from light golden to intense yellow. If your dog has a black mask, it means he is a great exemplar that is suited for advanced training. Try to avoid those yellow Great Danes with white marks on the chest, as this means the race was compromised. Those dogs make great watchdogs, and they are also friendly to the family and close friends.

Classification of the Great Dane: tiger style

This Great Dane has all the colors from light yellow to intense golden. The black stripes are also appreciated by the passionate of the race. Those dogs usually live longer and they are also more powerful. You will have to train them since their early months of life, as they can easily create habits, and it will be harder for you to change them once they appear.

Classification of the Great Dane: harlequin

The harlequin fog has a pure white color, without any spots of grey or yellow. However, black spots are accepted as long as they are pure black, not grey or other dark nuances. Those dogs are quiet, they make an excellent companion, but they are also a little lazy, so they are not as suited as watchdogs.

Classification of the Great Dane: blue

One of the rarest species of Great Danes, and you are lucky to find a dog of this kind. It is perfect from any point of view, being an excellent watchdog, but also a playful and caring companion. A dog that can’t be “bribed” by the robbers and a great looking exemplar also.

No comments:

Post a Comment